Best Picks

Tentsile Stingray 3-Person Tree Tent (3.1) Review

A 3-person (3.1) tree tent for families and groups, listed at $729 with an 880lbs / 400kg capacity, a 4-Season rating and a 24.4lbs / 11.05kg unit weight. The page says it sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults + 2 kids and suits car camping.

3.8Editorial rating: 3.8 out of 5Editorial rating · research-basedUpdated October 20, 2026
$729Price checked October 20, 2026
Check price at Tentsile

10% off

Use this code at checkout

Our verdict

A fit for a family or small group that has three suitable trees and wants a three-person suspended tent at $729, with a stated 880lbs / 400kg capacity and a 78 sqft / 7.25sqm floor. Look elsewhere if you want fabric, strap and door details spelled out, since the listing text gives none, if you want a lighter carry than 24.4lbs / 11.05kg, or if you prefer the Safari version, listed separately at $1,159. The main caveat is that this page gives dimensions and capacity but no materials.

Best for
Families or small groups with three suitable trees who want a 3-person suspended tent for car camping.
Skip if
You want fabric, strap and door details before buying, because the listing text gives none, or you need a lighter carry than 24.4lbs / 11.05kg.

Why 3.8/5: Lifted by stated capacity, weight and size figures and by independent coverage of the tent line, which includes a spec-based write-up of the Stingray; held back because it depends on suitable trees (or a ground option) and set-up practice.

Families and friends are the stated audience for the Stingray 3-Person Tree Tent (3.1), which the page says sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults + 2 kids. The listing gives an 880lbs / 400kg capacity, a 4-Season rating, a 24.4lbs / 11.05kg unit weight, a 78 sqft / 7.25sqm floor and a 130 sqft / 12sqm covered porch area. It costs $729 as a single option; the text gives no fabric, strap or door details.

Specifications

SpecPage says
Capacity880lbs / 400kg
Seasons4-Season
Unit Weight24.4lbs / 11.05kg
Packed Size25.5 x 8.6 x 11.8in / 65 x 22 x 30cm
Head Height4ft / 1.2m
Floor Area78 sqft / 7.25sqm
Floor Dimensions13.5 x 13.5 x 13.5ft / 4.1 x 4.1 x 4.1m
Covered Porch Area130 sqft / 12sqm

Options and pricing

Priced at $729 in a single version, with a Variant Bundles field that names only Stingray Tree Tent and offers no color or size choices. This page covers the (3.1) Stingray, and the Safari Stingray (3.1) is listed separately at $1,159. The listing text gives no fabric, strap or ratchet details, so what the price includes beyond the tent is not stated. All options were in stock when read.

How it compares

The Safari version, the Safari Stingray 3-Person Tree Tent (3.1), lists $1,159 with the same 880lbs / 400kg capacity and 78sqft / 7.25sqm floor, at 33.1lbs / 15kg against the 24.4lbs / 11.05kg here. For fewer sleepers, the Flite 2-Person Tree Tent (3.0) lists $429 at 10.4lbs / 4.7kg with 485lbs / 220kg and 43sqft / 4sqm, and the UNA 1-Person Hammock Tent (3.0) lists $329 for one adult at 265lbs / 120kg.

Shipping, returns and warranty

Shipping is free on orders over $199 sent from the US (lower 48) and EU countries; for Canada, the UK, Australia and New Zealand the page says its rates are kept as low as it can and gives a rough guide of $10 for most accessories and $20 for heavier items inside the US mainland. Average delivery is 3 to 5 working days in the US and EU and 7 to 10 days for the UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. PO Box addresses are refused. The page says no extra taxes or duties apply to purchases from the US, EU, Canada, Australia or the UK, optional cover from Route can be added at checkout, and free shipping covers the first delivery attempt only; stack and accessory parts can come from different warehouses and arrive in separate packages. Returns: unused, unopened products in their original packaging can go back within 30 days of receipt, and opened or tested products can too, with a restocking fee the page gives as $20 for an unopened box and $50 for a used product (another line on the same page says $30 for all non-warranty returns). You pay return shipping on opened products unless they are defective or were sent wrongly, pre-loved and clearance sales are final, Canadian returns go to a US return centre with duties paid, and EU returns that are not warranty cases go to the UK. Warranty: products bought on tentsile.com after January 2025 carry a lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects when used as the manuals say; straps and ratchets are covered for 5 years and a rainfly is meant to be replaced about every 3 years. The exclusions include poles and pegs, wear and tear, UV degradation (fabric rated for 1,500 hours for black mesh, 2,500 hours for green fabric and 3,500 hours for Safari fabric), snow load over 1 inch, high winds and products bought from third parties. Orders from $35 to $2,000 can be split into four payments with Zip, ClearPay, PayPal or Afterpay.

Before you buy

Tentsile's page header says "Rated 4.5/5" with "1100+ reviews" and "120,000+ Happy Customers"; these are the store's own figures and were not checked. Independent coverage we could open is thin: a hands-on review of the Connect by TechGadgetsCanada (March 2024, about 8 set-ups and 4 to 5 nights) found a steep learning curve, workable trees at only about half of its stops and one cold night, and a Wilderness Times write-up of the Stingray summarises specs and owner feedback without showing any hands-on testing. Tentsile's own pages set limits that matter, for example a recommended set-up height of 1.2m / 4ft on its Trilogy page, a 1 inch snow-load limit in its warranty terms and an FAQ warning that tension loads can reach 15kN, so only healthy trees should be used. The store also warns about copycat sites, and its returns and warranty terms apply to purchases made on tentsile.com.

What we liked

  • Capacity of 880lbs / 400kg and a 4-Season rating are stated, with the page saying it sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults + 2 kids
  • A 78 sqft / 7.25sqm floor, a 130 sqft / 12sqm covered porch area and a 4ft / 1.2m head height are all given
  • Lists at $729, where the Safari Stingray (3.1) lists $1,159 with an identical 880lbs / 400kg capacity
  • The page lists car camping and group outings first among its uses, and quotes a 15-minute set-up (10mins after 2-3 uses)

Worth noting

  • The listing text gives no rainfly or floor fabric, strap, pole or door details, only capacity, weight and size figures
  • At 24.4lbs / 11.05kg it weighs more than the Flite (3.0) at 10.4lbs / 4.7kg and the Flite AIR at 2.9kg / 6.6lbs
  • It hangs from three trees; the page says they should be healthy and less than 90 degree angles from each other, and that Ground Conversion Kits exist for ground use

Questions before you buy

How many people does the Stingray (3.1) sleep?

The page says it sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults + 2 kids and lists an 880lbs / 400kg capacity with a 4-Season rating. The floor is 78 sqft / 7.25sqm and the head height is 4ft / 1.2m.

What size is it when packed?

The page lists a unit weight of 24.4lbs / 11.05kg and a packed size of 25.5 x 8.6 x 11.8in / 65 x 22 x 30cm.

Does it need trees?

The page says to use healthy trees at less than 90 degree angles from each other and says Ground Conversion Kits are available for ground set-up. This listing does not say which kit fits the Stingray (3.1).

Can I return it if I change my mind?

The returns page gives 30 days from receipt for unused, unopened products in their original packaging, and opened or tested products can also go back within 30 days minus a restocking fee it gives as $20 for an unopened box and $50 for used items (another line says $30 for non-warranty returns). You pay return shipping on opened products unless they are defective or were sent wrongly. Pre-loved and clearance sales are final.

What does the warranty cover?

The warranty page says products bought on tentsile.com after January 2025 carry a lifetime warranty on manufacturing defects when used as the manuals say, with straps and ratchets covered for 5 years. It excludes poles and pegs, wear and tear, UV degradation, snow load over 1 inch and products bought from third parties. A rainfly should be replaced about every 3 years.

How long does delivery take?

The shipping page says average delivery is 3 to 5 working days in the US and EU and 7 to 10 days for the UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, with free shipping over $199 from the US (lower 48) and EU. Some stack and accessory parts can ship from different warehouses and arrive separately.

Can I pay in instalments?

The Buy Now Pay Later page lists Zip, ClearPay, PayPal and Afterpay, which split an order of $35 to $2,000 into four payments; the Zip example says four instalments over 6 weeks with no interest, though the card issuer may charge fees.

Sources & verification

What this review is based on and the day we last read it. Specs and claims from the maker are the maker’s own; the verdict and the rating are ours.

From the store

  • Stingray 3-Person Tree Tent (3.1) product page: specs, options and price (the buy buttons go there)Specs, options and the listed priceRead October 20, 2026
  • Tentsile shipping policyFree shipping threshold, delivery times, duties, optional Route cover and regional ratesRead October 20, 2026
  • Tentsile returns policy30-day returns, restocking fees, who pays return shipping, final-sale itemsRead October 20, 2026
  • Tentsile warranty pageLifetime warranty terms, 5-year straps and ratchets, exclusions such as poles, pegs, UV and snow loadRead October 20, 2026
  • Tentsile FAQsLoad ratings by range, tree and set-up questions, ground useRead October 20, 2026
  • Tentsile About pageCompany story, founding year and founderRead October 20, 2026
  • Tentsile Buy Now Pay Later pageZip, ClearPay, PayPal and Afterpay instalments for orders from $35 to $2,000Read October 20, 2026

Independent

What we couldn’t verify

  • No fabric, strap, pole or door-count details appear in the listing text, so rainfly and floor materials and the number of doors are not stated.
  • The key features quote a 15-minute set-up that drops to 10mins after 2-3 uses; a banner says 15 Minutes and the FAQ says 10 - 20 minutes.
  • Independent testing of this exact product: none found; the outside coverage located covers the Connect (hands-on, 2024) and the Stingray (specs summary).
  • "Rated 4.5/5, 1100+ reviews" and "120,000+ Happy Customers" are the store's own page-header claims, not checked.
  • The returns page gives a $50 restocking fee for used products and a $30 fee for non-warranty returns in different places.

Spotted an error or something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it and update the date.