Best Picks
Tech & Gadgets

Douk Audio Phono Preamps Compared: MM and MC Cartridges, Tubes, USB Power and a VU Meter

Five phono preamps from the Douk Audio store, $44.99 to $109.99: two take MC cartridges, two have no power adapter, and returns need approval first. Older store pages still give 10-25 day airmail and a 1-year warranty.

Updated October 26, 2026 · 5 reviews compared

This page compares five phono preamps from the Douk Audio store at doukaudio.com: the Nobsound T3 and the Douk Audio T14-EQ, H5, T13 and T4 PLUS. Nobsound and Douk Audio are both names listed on the same store, doukaudio.com, whose terms name its seller as Shenzhen Anba Technology Co., Ltd (Shenzhen, China) and HONGKONG LONGSHENG Import and Export Trading Co., Limited (Hong Kong). The picks cost $44.99 to $109.99, as priced on October 26, 2026. We have reviewed ten phono preamps from the store; the other five are the T3 PRO at $59.99, the P7 and the T12 at $109.99 each, the Ampapa A1 at $129.99 and the T9 at $134.99. Every product figure here is the store's own: we have not connected or listened to these preamps, and our reviews of them cite no independent test or measurement.

Start with the cartridge. The T3, H5 and T13 take moving-magnet (MM) cartridges only; the T14-EQ has an MM/MC switch on the bottom, and the T4 PLUS lists MM and moving-coil (MC) with seven input impedance settings, the only multi-step input impedance switch among the ten reviews. The figures for matching a cartridge are uneven. For example, the T3 page gives no gain in dB, no MM input impedance and no maximum input level, and the T14-EQ page gives no input impedance or gain for its MM and MC settings. The store's noise figures come with no test conditions and cannot be lined up: it lists S/N (signal-to-noise ratio) of 71dB for the T4 PLUS's phono input, 78dB or better for the H5's, 80dB or better for the T13's and T14-EQ's and 98dB or better for the T3, whose page names no input. Then check power. The T3, H5 and T4 PLUS prices include a 12V adapter, although the T3 page gives no rating or plug size and the T4 PLUS page no current rating. The T13 and T14-EQ run on USB-C 5V at 0.6A or more and come with a USB-C cable and no adapter, so the T14-EQ costs $5.00 more than the T3 and, unlike the T3, comes without a supply.

Returns are the part of Douk Audio's terms to read twice. The return page, read on October 25, 2026, allows a request within 30 days of delivery, but you must wait for approval before sending anything, and an approved return has to ship within 7 days. The item needs all packaging and accessories and no excessive wear, or the store can refuse it or refund part of the price. Original and expedited shipping, duties, taxes and customs charges are not refunded unless the law requires it or the store made the error, and refunds go to the original payment method after inspection. The return page does not say who pays return postage, and an older refund page still online excludes mistaken orders and change-of-mind returns from free after-sale service.

Shipping is where the store's pages disagree. The current shipping page says orders are generally processed no later than the next business day and arrive in 2-8 business days, with duties, taxes and customs fees included at checkout unless noted. An older shipping page still online says airmail takes 10-25 days for parcels under 2 kg and that the store is not responsible for import duties, so check the delivery estimate and any duties at checkout. The warranty page says 24 months from purchase for manufacturing defects, with free repair, a replacement unit and free shipping both ways for covered repairs; the older refund page says 1 year. The T3, T14-EQ and T13 reviews note that their prices are for the US, UK, EU and AU options and that the store's option data lists a higher price for the Other region: $54.99, $52.99 and $109.99.

At a glance

PickPriceCartridge typeLevels and settingsConnectionsPower supply at this priceSize and extrasWhere to buy
Plain MM stage with a 12V adapter in the boxNobsound T3 MM Phono Preamp for Turntables$44.99MM only600mV out at 3mV in, 1kHz; volume knob; no gain in dBPhono in; stereo RCA out; no headphone output12V adapter in the box; rating not stated118 x 99 x 33mm, 290g; aluminium caseCheck price at Douk Audio
MM/MC stage on USB power, with a headphone jackDouk Audio T14-EQ MM/MC Phono Stage Preamp$49.99MM/MC, switch on the bottomIn: MM 0.005V, MC 0.0005V RMS; out 0.6V; bass/treble ±5dBPhono in; RCA out; 3.5mm headphones, 16-200ΩUSB-C 5V, 0.6A or more; no adapter in the box84 x 84 x 28mm, 176g; no line inputCheck price at Douk Audio
Tube MM stage with a line input and a SUB outDouk Audio H5 Tube MM Phono Preamp with Sub Out$89.99MM onlyIn 5mV, max out 500mV (phono); bass/treble ±6dB; 20Hz filterPhono + RCA line in; 2 RCA out plus SUB out12V adapter in the box (FAQ: 12V/2A)GE-4BZ6 tubes; socketed NE5532; unit size not givenCheck price at Douk Audio
USB-powered MM stage with VU meter and headphonesDouk Audio T13 MM Phono Preamp with VU Meter$99.99MM onlyIn 0.005V, out 0.6V RMS (phono); no tone controlsPhono + RCA line in; RCA out; 3.5mm headphonesUSB-C 5V, 0.6A or more; no adapter in the box178 x 118 x 55mm, 730g; VU meter, no tubeCheck price at Douk Audio
Tube MM/MC stage with seven impedance settingsDouk Audio T4 PLUS Tube Phono Preamp$109.99MM and MC; 7 impedance steps, 1KΩ to 10ΩIn 0.005V; max out 300mV (MM), 3V (MC); S/N 71dB, THD 0.8%Phono + 3.5mm AUX in (AUX first); RCA + headphones12V adapter in the box; no current ratingJAN5725 tubes (page also says 5654); VU meterCheck price at Douk Audio

1. Plain MM stage with a 12V adapter in the box

Nobsound T3 MM Phono Preamp for Turntables

A plain MM stage at $44.99, sold under the Nobsound name. The price includes a DC 12V adapter, though the page gives no rating or plug size. It lists 600mV out at 3mV in (1kHz), S/N of 98dB or better and THD (total harmonic distortion) of 0.1%, both with no test conditions, a volume knob, a power switch with a red light and a GND terminal, in a 118 x 99 x 33mm aluminium case. It has one stereo RCA output and no headphone output. The page gives no gain in dB, no MM input impedance or capacitance and no maximum input level.

Best for
Anyone with a moving-magnet turntable and an amplifier or active speakers that lacks a phono input.
Skip if
You run a moving-coil cartridge, or you want a phono stage with a headphone output built in.

2. MM/MC stage on USB power, with a headphone jack

Douk Audio T14-EQ MM/MC Phono Stage Preamp

A pocket-sized phono stage at $49.99: a switch on the bottom selects MM (0.005V RMS input) or MC (0.0005V RMS), and it has treble and bass controls of ±5dB and a 3.5mm headphone jack rated 16-200Ω (250mW at 32 ohm). It runs on USB-C 5V at 0.6A or more; the box holds a USB-C cable and no adapter, so the price includes no supply. It has no line input, and the page gives no input impedance or gain for the MM and MC settings. S/N of 80dB or better (phono) and THD of 0.1% or less come with no test conditions.

Best for
Turntable owners who need an affordable, compact MM/MC phono stage with a headphone option.
Skip if
You need a power adapter in the box, or you want a full preamp with multiple line inputs rather than a phono-only stage.

3. Tube MM stage with a line input and a SUB out

Douk Audio H5 Tube MM Phono Preamp with Sub Out

A tube MM stage at $89.99 with an RCA line input, two RCA outputs carrying the same signal and a SUB Out with a switchable 180/250Hz low-pass filter. A 20Hz high-pass filter works on the phono input only, and bass and treble (±6dB) shape the main outputs only. The price includes a DC 12V supply and two 4BZ6 tubes (4BZ6 replacements only). It prints THD+N (distortion plus noise) of 0.15% (phono) and 0.5% (RCA) and S/N of 78dB or better (phono) with no test level. The page gives only package size and weight, 265 x 240 x 65mm and 0.8kg, not the unit's own.

Best for
Vinyl listeners with an MM turntable and a subwoofer who want tube warmth, rumble filtering and dual outputs in one small unit.
Skip if
You use a moving-coil cartridge, want the rumble filter active on line-level sources, or need independent output switching.

4. USB-powered MM stage with VU meter and headphones

Douk Audio T13 MM Phono Preamp with VU Meter

A desktop MM stage at $99.99 with a full-color VU meter whose backlight color and brightness adjust, a stereo RCA line input and a 3.5mm headphone jack rated 16-300 ohm (250mW at 32 ohm, 100mW at 64 ohm, 60mW at 128 ohm). It runs on USB-C 5V at 0.6A or more; the box holds a USB-C cable and a manual, so the price includes no adapter. The headphone jack takes priority over the RCA output. It lists S/N of 106dB or better (RCA) and 80dB or better (phono) and THD of 0.1% or less with no test conditions, and has no tube stage or tone controls.

Best for
Vinyl listeners and desktop headphone users who want an MM phono stage, preamp and VU meter display in one USB-powered box.
Skip if
You use a moving-coil cartridge, or you want a power adapter included in the box.

5. Tube MM/MC stage with seven impedance settings

Douk Audio T4 PLUS Tube Phono Preamp

A tube stage at $109.99 for MM and MC cartridges, with a seven-position input impedance switch (1KΩ, 470Ω, 220Ω, 100Ω, 47Ω, 22Ω, 10Ω), a built-in VU meter, a 3.5mm AUX input that takes priority over phono and a headphone jack (150mW at 32 ohm at most, matched to 32-300 ohm). The price includes a 12V adapter (the page gives no current rating) and a 3.5mm-to-RCA cable. Its phono figures read S/N 71dB and THD 0.8% with no test level, with one 0.005V input level for both MM and MC; the page names JAN5725 tubes in three places and JAN5654 once.

Best for
Vinyl listeners with MM or MC cartridges who want a tube phono stage with meters and a headphone amp.
Skip if
You only need a basic MM phono stage, or you need a power amplifier rather than a preamp.

How we compared

We compared these preamps from the store's product pages, as summarized in our full review of each, and from Douk Audio's shipping, return and refund, warranty and contact pages, including the older shipping and refund pages that are still online, all read on October 25, 2026. We have not connected or listened to these preamps: every figure is the store's own, printed on its product pages and mostly with no test level or conditions, and the sources behind our reviews are the store's own pages.

Where a listing or the store's own pages disagree, or a figure goes unexplained, this page says so. The main cases: the current shipping page's 2-8 business days with duties included against an older page's 10-25 day airmail and no responsibility for import duties; the warranty page's 24 months against the older refund page's 1 year; the T4 PLUS page naming JAN5725 tubes in three places and JAN5654 once, and giving one 0.005V input level for both MM and MC; the T3's feature text, which mentions light decorating a 'vacuum tube' though its parameters list none; the H5's SUB Out maximum of 3.2V at 180Hz and 5.5V at 250Hz, above the 2V maximum of its main outputs, with no reason given; and notes that sit in the store's description rather than the page text, such as the T14-EQ's note that its headphone jack takes priority over the RCA output and the T4 PLUS's side-panel VU sensitivity control, dated 2022. The picks are labeled by need, not ranked against each other; each price comes from the pick's review and was last checked on the date shown beside it.

Each pick links to its full review and the sources behind it. How we research

Questions before you buy

Which Douk Audio phono preamps work with moving-coil (MC) cartridges?

Four of the ten we reviewed list MC: the T14-EQ (switch on the bottom; MC input 0.0005V RMS), the T12 (MM 47kΩ and 45dB, MC 150Ω and 58dB), the T4 PLUS (seven impedance steps from 1KΩ to 10Ω) and the T9 (MM 47K, MC 330Ω). The A1, H5, P7, T13, T3 and T3 PRO are MM only: their reviews say MC is not supported, has no option, or that no MC setting is listed.

Does a Douk Audio phono preamp come with a power supply?

Eight of the ten list a supply in the box: 12V on the T3, H5, T4 PLUS, A1, P7, T12 and T9, and a power supply on the T3 PRO, whose page lists DC12V. The T13 and T14-EQ list only a USB-C cable and need 5V at 0.6A or more; their reviews say a computer port or power bank will do. Ratings are patchy: the T3 and T3 PRO give none and the T4 PLUS no current. The P7's review text says its listing does not state an adapter, but its packing list names one.

Can I plug headphones into a Douk Audio phono preamp?

On six of the ten, through a 3.5mm jack: the T14-EQ, T13 and T9 (each 250mW at 32 ohm), the A1 (125mW at 32 ohm), the T4 PLUS (150mW at 32 ohm at most) and the T12 (350mW at most, no load named). The T3, P7 and T3 PRO reviews say they have no headphone output; the H5's output list names two RCA outputs and a SUB Out and no headphone jack. On the T13, T14-EQ, T9 and T12 the headphone jack takes priority and mutes the RCA output; the A1 and T4 PLUS run both at once.

How long does Douk Audio shipping take, and are duties included?

The current shipping page says orders are generally processed no later than the next business day and arrive in 2-8 business days, with duties, taxes and customs fees included in the checkout price unless noted. An older shipping page still online says airmail takes 10-25 days for parcels under 2 kg, DHL, UPS or FedEx 5-8 days above that, and that the store is not responsible for import duties. The product pages show Free Shipping and 2-8 Days Arrival badges; check the delivery estimate and any duties at checkout.

Can I return a Douk Audio phono preamp, and who pays return postage?

Ask within 30 days of delivery and wait for approval; an approved return has to ship within 7 days. The item needs all packaging and accessories and no excessive wear, or the store can refuse it or refund part of the price. Original and expedited shipping, duties, taxes and customs charges are not refunded unless the law requires it or the store erred. The return page does not say who pays return postage, so ask first. An older refund page excludes mistaken orders and change-of-mind returns from free after-sale service.

What warranty comes with a Douk Audio phono preamp?

The warranty page says 24 months from purchase for manufacturing defects, with free repair, a replacement unit and free shipping both ways for covered repairs. Drops, liquid, DIY repairs, lightning, extreme temperatures and misuse are excluded (partial fees may apply), and damage from weak packing on the way back may not be covered. The older refund page still says 1 year. Support is by email at [email protected].