Best Picks

PROTOUR City 5.3 Urban Electric Bike Review

A blue step-through e-bike (photos) listed at €1,199 with no specification on its page. The photos show a large down-tube battery, a motor housing at the cranks, a handlebar display and a front disc brake; it may suit a buyer who gets the motor, battery and weight figures from the seller first.

2.5Editorial rating: 2.5 out of 5Editorial rating · research-basedUpdated October 22, 2026
€1,199Price checked October 22, 2026
Check price at PRO TOUR

€300 off

Use this code at checkout

Our verdict

For a buyer who wants a step-through city e-bike with a down-tube battery, a headlight and a display, the City 5.3's photos show that layout, but €1,199 buys a bike whose page states no figure of its own beyond its price. Look elsewhere if you want to compare motor power, battery capacity or weight before ordering. The main caveat is that the page's long text describes the Storck erde.2, so nothing written there applies to this bike.

Best for
A buyer who wants the down-tube battery, display and headlight shown in the photos and will get the figures from the seller first.
Skip if
You want a stated motor power, battery capacity or weight before you spend €1,199.

Why 2.5/5: The photos at least show its motor position, display and headlight, and the price is clear; a page with no specification, a long text that describes another brand's bike, store pages copied from Totem USA and no independent coverage hold it back.

Blue paint, a step-through frame and a large down-tube battery set the City 5.3 apart in its six photos, which also show a motor housing at the cranks, a handlebar display, a headlight and a front disc brake. The page itself offers a heading, a price of €1,199 and one 'Default Title' variant, with no specification table. Its long description is the same text as on the store's own Storck Erde.2 page and does not describe this bike, so motor power, battery capacity, weight and range are unknown.

Specifications

SpecPage says
Frame (photos)Low-step (step-through), blue, PRO TOUR lettering
Battery position (photos)Large pack on the down tube
Motor position (photos)Housing at the cranks
Brakes and fork (photos)Front disc brake, front suspension fork
Equipment (photos)Rear rack, full-length fenders, headlight, handlebar display, kickstand
Tires (photos)CST Classic

Options and pricing

The page lists a single 'Default Title' variant at €1,199, in stock when read, with no crossed-out price. The six photos show one blue color, and no size, frame height or rider-height range is given.

How it compares

The PROTOUR City 1.3 Urban Electric Bike is listed at the same €1,199 with no specification either, but its photos place the battery on the rear rack and show a front hub, where the City 5.3 has a down-tube battery and a motor housing at the cranks. The Storck Erde.2 City Electric Bike, at €2,399, has a full table on its page: a 250W 60 Nm mid-drive, a 360 Wh battery, a 1-speed belt drive and a net 19kg.

Shipping, returns and warranty

Where it sells: the store's country selector lists 25 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden), with prices in euros (a few countries in their own currency); there is no option for the US, UK, Canada, Australia or New Zealand. Shipping: each product page says every order ships free by DHL or UPS, except to Cyprus and Malta, in 3 to 7 business days. The separate shipping policy page says something else: free shipping to the lower 48 US states, a flat fee for refused shipments, and 'Totem' as the company shipping by FedEx and USPS, with a Totem USA support address, so it is another company's text and cannot be relied on. Returns: product pages give 30 days in three cases (an unopened item with proof of purchase, a defective motor, battery or frame shown with photos or video, and a 'ride trial' return if the bike was ridden under 10 km and shows no wear), a prepaid label and a refund 3 days after inspection, and exclude used products, batteries, special orders and accidental damage. The return policy page says 30 days for unworn items in original packaging, adds that sale items cannot be returned, gives EU buyers a 14-day cooling-off right and still tells you to send returns to '[INSERT RETURN ADDRESS]', a template placeholder. Warranty: product pages show a '2-Year Warranty' label; the warranty policy page is the limited warranty of Totem USA LLC of McKinney, Texas, which covers US purchases only (frame for life, electronics 1 year) and names Totem bikes. Payment: the store's Klarna page offers monthly payments in 3, 6 or 12 installments.

Before you buy

The page shows no customer reviews. Company: the store's legal page names PRO TOUR BIKE at Aleea Zambilelor 28, Piatra Neamt, Romania, with business registration number 51300185, which we could not check against a registry. The About page says the bikes are 'Crafted in Czech' by three factories, and a page titled 'test' calls PROTOUR the flagship e-bike brand of Golden Wheel Group, active since 1987, with 258 tests per bike; no certificate or test report is linked. The domain was registered on 19 February 2025. Trustpilot has no profile for protourbike.com, and web searches on 22 October 2026 found no independent review of the store. The long description on the store's page for this bike is the Storck erde.2's, repeated on all five of the store's product pages, so none of its figures describe this bike. The review shows the code FACESTORE. A cart test on 22 October 2026, made without the affiliate link, took a fixed €300 off each of the five bikes, for example €899 down to €599 on the M920 and €2,399 down to €2,099 on the Storck; if the discount line is missing from your cart, enter FACESTORE at checkout.

What we liked

  • The photos show a handlebar display, a headlight and a front disc brake
  • A rear rack, full-length fenders and a kickstand are visible in the photos
  • The photos show a motor housing at the cranks and a down-tube battery, so the layout is visible even without a specification
  • One listed price, €1,199, for a single variant in stock when read

Worth noting

  • No motor power, battery capacity, weight or range is stated on the page
  • The long description belongs to the Storck e:Raddar erde.2 and does not describe the bike in the photos
  • A single variant, with no size or rider-height range given
  • Searches on 2026-10-22 turned up no independent coverage of the City 5.3

Questions before you buy

Where is the motor on the City 5.3?

The photos show a motor housing at the cranks. The page does not state the motor's power, torque or maker.

Does the City 5.3 have lights and a display?

The photos show a headlight and a display unit on the handlebar. The page does not describe either one, and it gives no battery capacity or range.

Which colors and sizes are offered?

Just one version: the page lists a single 'Default Title' variant, and the six photos show a blue bike. No size or rider-height range is given.

Does PRO TOUR ship outside the EU?

Not according to its country selector, which lists 25 EU countries with prices in euros and no US, UK, Canadian, Australian or New Zealand option. The shipping policy page that mentions the US lower 48 is Totem USA's text. Ask [email protected] before ordering from outside the EU.

What is the return window?

Product pages say 30 days in three cases: an unopened item, a defective motor, battery or frame, or a ride-trial return under 10 km. The return policy page says 30 days, bars returns of sale items, gives EU buyers a 14-day cooling-off right and still shows '[INSERT RETURN ADDRESS]', so confirm the process with support before you buy.

What warranty do the bikes carry?

Product pages show a 2-year warranty label. The M920 manual says 24 months on the frame and 12 months on battery and motor, while the warranty policy page is Totem USA's US-only text with different terms. Ask [email protected] for the terms that apply to your bike in writing.

Sources & verification

What this review is based on and the day we last read it. Specs and claims from the maker are the maker’s own; the verdict and the rating are ours.

From the store

Independent

What we couldn’t verify

  • Word for word, the long description and 'Award-Winning Design' paragraph are the same text as on the store's own Storck Erde.2 page (250W mid-drive, belt drive, 360 Wh battery); the photos show a different bike, and the page has no specification table of its own.
  • Motor power, battery capacity, weight, range, wheel size and frame size are not stated, and the motor's position comes only from the photos.
  • The shipping and warranty policy pages are copies of another company's text (Totem USA) and the return page keeps a placeholder address, so the product tabs' shipping, return and warranty terms cannot be checked against a policy.
  • The store ties PROTOUR to Golden Wheel Group and says the bikes are crafted in Czechia, while its legal page gives a Romanian address; no company registry or certificate was available to check either claim.
  • No independent test or customer review of this model was found in web searches made on 22 October 2026.

Spotted an error or something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it and update the date.