Best Picks

XR Cryo Plunge Inflatable Tub Review

An inflatable cold plunge tub sold with a chiller that cools the water to about 37–38 °F and runs ozone sanitation on household power. $4,199 with the cooling-only Super Chiller or $4,499 with heating, direct from Cryo Innovations in California.

3.6Editorial rating: 3.6 out of 5Editorial rating · research-basedUpdated October 25, 2026
From $4,199Price checked October 26, 2026
Check price at XR Cryo Plunge

Our verdict

The XR Cryo Plunge Inflatable Tub suits a buyer who wants a chilled, ozone-sanitized cold plunge on household power for the least money in Cryo Innovations' range, in a tub that packs down. Its size, warranty and chiller specs aren't on the current product page, returns cost freight both ways and exclude sale items, and orders usually ship in 4–6 weeks. Get the warranty, the delivery cost and the return terms in writing before you order.

Best for
Buyers who want a chilled, ozone-sanitized plunge on household power that packs away, at the lowest price in the XR range.
Skip if
You want published specs and warranty terms up front, easy returns, or delivery within a couple of weeks.

Why 3.6/5: Lifted by being the least expensive XR tub, a 5-minute inflate-and-deflate claim and a chiller with ozone sanitation. Held back by a live page with no size, power, box list or warranty, sale prices the refund policy treats as non-returnable, and a 4-6 week ship time.

Weighing it up? Cold Plunges Compared: XR Cryo Tubs vs a Sweaty Yeti Plunge Room

The XR Cryo Plunge Inflatable Tub is a cold plunge tub that you inflate, fill with water and connect to a chiller, which keeps the water cold and runs it through a filter and an ozone sanitizer. Cryo Innovations LLC of Newport Beach, California makes it and sells it through its own store, XR Cryo Plunge, in white or black. It's the least expensive tub in the range: $4,199 with the cooling-only Super Chiller and $4,499 with the Hot and Cold Super Chiller, next to crossed-out prices of $4,990 to $5,500. This review quotes what you would pay.

The store says the tub inflates or deflates in five minutes or less and can be used indoors or outdoors. An earlier version of the product page said setup means connecting a few hoses and inflating the tub with the electric pump, needs no special tools and should take no more than 20 minutes. The brand's dimension graphic gives 71 inches long, 28 wide and 32 high; one dealer lists it as 25 inches wide, and the current page gives neither a size nor a water volume, so check the space you need with the store.

The chiller is a separate unit on wheels, with a carry handle, a touch screen and quick connectors for the hoses. The user manual on the store's instructions page (version 6, May 2024) rates the Super Chiller at 3,050 W of cooling capacity from 1,170 W of input power on 100–127 V, 60 Hz, which is about 10 amps at 120 V. It uses R410A refrigerant, a self-priming circulation pump, an external cartridge filter and a built-in ozone disinfection device. As a reference figure, the manual says it cools 200 liters (about 53 gallons) from 23 °C to 5 °C (73 °F to 41 °F) in about 2.8 hours, measured in a closed, insulated barrel in a 30 °C (86 °F) room.

The water temperature can be set from 3 to 42 °C (37 to 107 °F). The store quotes 38 °F as the lowest, and an earlier page added that the air temperature around the tub changes what you get. Heating needs the Hot and Cold Super Chiller, a $300 option. You control it from the touch panel or from the Tuya Smart or Smart Life app on iOS and Android, which connects only over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. The panel and the app show the water temperature and flow, switch between °C and °F, set how long the ozone runs (up to 5 minutes), lock the screen, set an on/off timer and can restart the chiller on its own after a power cut.

On the earlier product page, the brand listed an inflatable cover, two filters, hoses and a starter sanitizing kit of Sirona Sanitizer, Oxidizer, pH Up, pH Down and test strips; the product photos also show an electric air pump. Its residential chemical sheet uses non-chlorine Sirona products: a starting dose when you fill the tub, then oxidizer every week, a wipe of the water line and a check with test strips. Both the sheet and the manual say not to fill the tub with softened water, and the brand's FAQ said to change the water every 2 to 4 weeks depending on use.

The manual asks for at least 50 cm (about 20 inches) of free space around the chiller, an air temperature between 1 and 45 °C (34–113 °F) while it runs, and never running it without its filter element. The chemical sheet warns that a chiller running without water flow can freeze and be damaged, and says to empty the tub, filter and chiller if the system stops filtering or is switched off. Drain the chiller's internal pipes before storing it. The manual lists CE certification; it doesn't mention a UL or ETL listing.

The store's shipping policy says orders usually ship in 4 to 6 weeks, depending on inventory, the quantity ordered and your location, and a sales rep gives you the date; shipping is calculated at checkout. Returns must be requested in writing within 30 days of delivery and need a Return Authorization number, and the equipment must come back undamaged. You pay both the original and the return shipping, which come out of your refund, and the store's refund policy also says sale items can't be returned, while every XR product is shown at a sale price. The current page doesn't state a warranty; earlier store pages and current dealer listings give one year, with 2- and 3-year options for sale.

Within the range, the acrylic tub ($5,500 for the 67-inch standard size) is a rigid, freestanding tub that comes with the 2025 chiller and heater and an underwater light, and the WINDOW ($8,500) adds a see-through front panel and a headrest. Neither the manual nor the store's pages say who should avoid cold-water immersion or for how long, so ask your doctor first if you have a health condition.

Specifications

SpecPage says
ProductXR Cryo Plunge Inflatable Tub, "XR CRYO PLUNGE BY CRYO INNOVATIONS"; the page calls it the newest edition to the XR Family
Price on the pageRegular price $4,990.00, sale price $4,199.00 (marked "Sale"), shown for White with the Super Chiller ONLY; "Shipping calculated at checkout."
Options and pricesWhite / Super Chiller ONLY $4,199 ($4,990 crossed out); White / Hot and Cold Super Chiller $4,499 ($5,500 crossed out); Black / Super Chiller ONLY $4,199 ($4,990 crossed out); Black / Hot and Cold Super Chiller $4,499 ($4,990 crossed out); all four available in the store data
Colors and chiller typesColor: White, Black. Chiller Type: Super Chiller ONLY, Hot and Cold Super Chiller
SetupCan be inflated and deflated in 5 minutes or less; can be used indoors or outdoors
FeaturesAn ozone filtration system and a built-in water chiller "all in one easy to use tub"
Intended useThe page names athletic recovery and rehab, injury recovery and overall wellness (the store's claim)
PickupPickup available at 1582 Monrovia, usually ready in 5+ days
Not listedSize, water volume, chiller capacity or power draw, what is in the box, warranty, certifications

How it compares

On Oct 25, 2026 the inflatable tub was $4,199 with the cooling-only Super Chiller and $4,499 with heating. The XR Cryo Plunge Acrylic Tub was $5,500 for the 67-inch standard size without the water catcher, with the 2025 Chiller/Heater included: $1,001 more than the inflatable with heating, the like-for-like comparison, since the cooling-only inflatable does not heat. Its page gives sizes (67" L x 32" W x 24" H, or 73" L x 33" W x 27" H for the extra long); this page gives none. The WINDOW was $8,500 with the same chiller and heater, a headrest and a 3-month supply of non-chlorine chemicals, and its page lists no tub size either.

Who it suits: the inflatable for a buyer who wants the least expensive tub in this range and a tub the page says inflates and deflates in 5 minutes or less; the acrylic tub for a rigid, sized tub with the chiller and heater included; the WINDOW only if the see-through front is worth $8,500 to you. If you already own a tub, the 2025 Deluxe Chiller and Heater alone was $3,600. Skip the inflatable if you need a published size, water volume and warranty before ordering: the live page gives none.

Shipping, returns and warranty

Read on Oct 25, 2026 from the store's shipping policy, refund policy and terms of service, with its home page checked for conflicts. The shipping policy is two sentences long and no warranty page could be read, so several points below say not stated.

  • Where it ships: not stated. The shipping policy names no countries, states or exclusions.
  • Shipping fee: not stated. The policy gives no fee, free-shipping line or carrier. The refund page does refer to a customer who "received free shipping as part of the order", so free shipping may apply to some orders; no page says which.
  • Timing: "Depending on inventory, shipping usually takes 4-6 weeks depending on the quantity ordered and location." A sales rep notifies you of the shipping date, or you can call 888-316-2653.
  • Delivery handling: curbside, signature, freight, tracking and delivery appointments are not mentioned on any saved page.
  • Return window and condition: 30 days after receiving the item to request a return. The item must be in the condition you received it, "unworn or unused, with tags, and in its original packaging", with the receipt or proof of purchase. A second paragraph on the same page adds written notice, a Return Authorization number and a different condition test (see below).
  • How a return starts: email [email protected] first; items sent back without a request "will not be accepted". The return address is a blank template field, "[INSERT RETURN ADDRESS]", and a later paragraph mentions "the Cryo Innovations warehouse" without an address.
  • Return shipping and fees: the page gives two answers (see below). No restocking fee is mentioned.
  • Refunds: to the original payment method after the store receives and inspects the return, plus your bank's processing time; the timing is given two ways (see below). If more than 15 business days pass after approval, the page says to contact the store.
  • Damaged or wrong items: inspect the order on reception and contact the store "immediately" if an item is defective, damaged or the wrong one.
  • Not returnable: perishable goods, custom products, personal care goods, hazardous materials, flammable liquids or gases, sale items and gift cards. For an exchange it says to return the item and, once the return is accepted, buy the new one separately.
  • Warranty: not stated. The shipping policy, refund policy and terms of service give no warranty length or coverage, and the store's /pages/warranty address returned a "Page not found" page. Section 13 of the terms provides products "as is" and "as available", "except as expressly stated by us", without warranties of durability or fitness for a particular purpose. The home page lists a separately priced protection plan; no saved page says what it covers.
  • Prices and orders: the terms let the store change prices without notice, correct errors in descriptions, prices or shipping charges, and cancel an order after it has been placed.
  • Seller and contact: the terms say the site is operated by "XR Cryo Plunge by Cryo Innovations" and list Cryo Innovations LLC of Newport Beach, California, with [email protected] and 888-316-2653. They are governed by United States law. The terms also show unfilled template placeholders such as "[LINK TO REFUND POLICY]".

Where the pages disagree

  • Return shipping: the first paragraph says that if a return is accepted "we'll send you a return shipping label" and does not say who pays. The second says the purchaser pays "BOTH the original shipping costs" and the return shipping to Cryo Innovations, that shipping costs "will be subtracted from customer's refund amount", and that standard shipping is subtracted even if the order shipped free. Shipping arrangements for the equipment "may only be made by Cryo Innovations". The customer is told the cost and must approve it before a Return Authorization is issued.
  • Return conditions: the first paragraph asks for the item "unworn or unused, with tags, and in its original packaging". The second asks for written notice within 30 days, a Return Authorization number, and equipment that is "undamaged and in the same condition as it was on delivery".
  • Refund timing: one paragraph says the refund goes to the original payment method "within 10 business days"; another says "within 10 days of approval".
  • Sale items: the refund policy says it cannot accept returns on "sale items" and does not define them, while the home page labels most of its featured items "Sale" beside a higher regular price.

For this product, the page states no shipping fee or free-shipping line ("Shipping calculated at checkout") and the shipping policy says orders usually ship in 4 to 6 weeks, while the page also offers pickup at 1582 Monrovia, usually ready in 5+ days; every option shows a crossed-out price ($4,990 or $5,500), and the refund policy says it cannot accept returns on sale items; all 4 options (White or Black, Super Chiller only or Hot and Cold) were available in the store data on Oct 25, 2026.

What we liked

  • The lowest price in the XR range: $4,199 with a chiller, or $4,499 with heating as well
  • Packs down: it inflates or deflates in 5 minutes or less, and the brand says setup needs no special tools
  • Comes with the Super Chiller, rated at 3,050 W of cooling, twice the 1,520 W of the Regular Chiller in the same manual
  • Ozone sanitation, a circulation pump and a cartridge filter, with app control on iOS and Android
  • Runs on 100–127 V household power, per the manual
  • Usable indoors or outdoors; the product photos show the lid held down by straps with a combination-lock buckle

Worth noting

  • The current product page lists no size, specs or warranty; those come from the manual, older store pages and dealers
  • Returns: you pay the original and the return shipping, taken out of your refund, and the policy says sale items can't be returned
  • Orders usually ship in 4–6 weeks, and the delivery cost only shows at checkout
  • The manual lists CE certification only; it doesn't mention a UL or ETL listing
  • The app works only on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
  • No softened water, weekly chemical doses and a water change every 2 to 4 weeks, per the brand's care sheets

Questions before you buy

Does it need a special electrical circuit?

The manual rates the Super Chiller for 100–127 V, 60 Hz household power, drawing 1,170 W, which is about 10 amps at 120 V. It doesn't call for a 240 V circuit.

How cold does the water get?

The chiller can be set from 37 to 107 °F (3–42 °C), and the store quotes 38 °F as the lowest. The air temperature around the tub affects what you get. Heating needs the Hot and Cold Super Chiller option, which costs $300 more.

How long does delivery take?

The store's shipping policy says orders usually ship in 4 to 6 weeks, depending on inventory and your location, and a sales rep gives you the date. The shipping cost is calculated at checkout.

Can I return it?

You must request a return in writing within 30 days and get a Return Authorization number. You pay both the original and the return shipping, taken out of your refund, and the policy says sale items can't be returned, so ask the store before you buy.

What warranty does it have?

The current product page doesn't say. Earlier store pages and dealer listings give a one-year warranty with 2- and 3-year options for sale; get the terms in writing before you order.

Sources & verification

What this review is based on and the day we last read it. Specs and claims from the maker are the maker’s own; the verdict and the rating are ours.

From the store

What we couldn’t verify

  • The live page lists no size, water volume, chiller capacity or power draw, box contents or warranty. The review's size (71 x 28 x 32 in) is from the brand's dimension graphic and its chiller figures (3,050 W, 1,170 W input) from the user manual, not from this page.
  • The crossed-out price of the Black / Hot and Cold option is $4,990, the same as the cooling-only tubs, while the White one is $5,500; the review's "crossed-out prices of $4,990 to $5,500" covers both.
  • The page shows pickup at 1582 Monrovia, usually ready in 5+ days, while the shipping policy says orders usually ship in 4 to 6 weeks; the page does not say which applies to this tub.
  • All four options carry a crossed-out price, so under the refund policy (no returns on sale items) none looks returnable; the page itself says nothing about returns.
  • The page's recovery and wellness claims ("athletic recovery and rehab", "tons of benefits") come with no evidence and no guidance on who should avoid cold immersion.

Spotted an error or something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it and update the date.

Share this review